L’arsenele and Ecce

Northeastern University presents Ensemble l’Arsenale, a chamber music ensemble from Treviso, Italy, and Ecce, a Massachusetts-based chamber music ensemble, in a concert featuring music by contemporary composers. The program includes What the Wave Meant (2007) by Nicolas Tzortzis, and Self, Analyzed (2010) by Travis Alford (both winners of the ECCE/Aresenale 2011 call for scores) as well as music by Lorenzo Tomio and Filippo Perocco.
Founded in Treviso by young musicians and composers under the artistic/musical direction of Filippo Perocco, L’arsenale ( aims to bridge the divide between writing music and making music, between conceiving a sound and the gesture needed to produce that sound, between the lifetime of a sound and the space it lives and dies in. A special feature of the group is its flexibility, easily changing personnel in its keenly attentive explorations of the new work coming from young composers in the vast field of contemporary music.
ECCE ( was founded in 2005 with the mission of supporting the creation and performance of contemporary music through concerts, symposia, and outreach events. ECCE’s goal is to help revitalize the connection between contemporary music and diverse communities, and to promote new forms of engagement with modern music.
Since its creation, ECCE has committed itself to the most adventuresome programming with special emphasis on contemporary European repertoire not often heard in the states. ECCE performers have worked closely with composers such as Fabien Levy, Louis Karchin, Helmut Lachenmann, George Tsontakis and David Rakowski in realizing powerful interpretations of their music.
Ilario Morciano – sax
Paolo Bacchin – trumpet
Lorenzo Tomio – guitar
Roberto Durante – piano
Luca Piovesan – accordion
Livia Rado – soprano
Filippo Perocco – conductor
John Aylward, Artistic Director
Maria Wildhaber, Executive Director
Dominique Schafer, Artistic Director
Jeffrey Means, conductor
Jo Ellen Miller, soprano
Lance Suzuki, flutes
Rane Moore, clarinets
Ryan Yure, clarinets
Ben Fox, oboe
Diamanda Dramm, violin
Karina Fox, viola
Serafim Smigelskiy, cello
Randall Zigler, contrabass
Keith Kirchoff, piano
Samuel Solomon, percussion
L’arsenale will perform with Ecce pieces selected from our call for scores:
Nicolas Tzortzis – What the Wave Meant (2007)
Travis Alford – Self, Analyzed (2010)

Concert Coordinator: Arthur Rishi 617.373.2671


Tue, May 03, 2011

7:30 pm


Fenway Center

77 St. Stephen Street
Boston, MA