Back to Undergraduate Art + Design Programs

undergraduate

Art History, Minor

An ideal complement to many majors, the Art History minor builds the techniques of visual intelligence necessary to successfully navigate an increasingly image-driven world.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

An ideal complement to many majors, the Art History minor builds the techniques of visual intelligence necessary to successfully navigate an increasingly image-driven world. Students learn to interpret visual evidence as well as written documents to understand and interrogate how evolving ideas about quality and judgement have shaped the institutions of art, including the growing art market. A diverse and strong faculty brings its own research into the classroom, allowing students to gain international exposure and real world experience with world-class museums and cultural centers in Boston, Cambridge, and the greater metropolitan area. Art History minors often have opportunities to conduct independent research, develop publishable texts and gain exposure to the dynamic fields of visual art and curatorial practice.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Art History, Minor Students

  • art history
  • arts
  • visual arts

Art History, Minor Requirements

GPA Requirement

2.500 GPA required in the minor

*For complete program course listing, visit the University course catalog.

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Program Coordinators:

Julia Hechtman

Assistant Teaching Professor

j.hechtman@northeastern.edu
617-373-3872

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Administrators:

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Greg Zuch

Academic Advisor

g.zuch@northeastern.edu
617-373-7942

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Michelle Hagopian

Associate Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Faculty Member

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

View Art + Design faculty and staff