Back to Undergraduate Art + Design Programs

undergraduate

Experience Design, Minor

CAMD’s graduate offerings in Experience Design embrace research-driven design thinking for entrepreneurship, innovation and other areas, preparing students to be vital contributors and leaders at the intersection of innovation and design.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

Experience design is a holistic approach that utilizes investigation into human environments in specific situations to improve quality. Given an understanding of goals, needs, and desires, it seeks to improve the various contexts by identifying and studying events and how they can be turned into beneficial practices.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Experience Design, Minor Students

  • Artifacts
  • Augmented
  • Augmented Reality
  • Cybernetics
  • design
  • Design Research Behavior
  • Design Thinking
  • Diagrams
  • Emotional
  • Engagement
  • Environments
  • Events
  • Experience
  • Experience Design
  • Holistic
  • Human-centered Design
  • Immersion
  • Immersive
  • Innovation
  • Integrative
  • Integrative Design
  • Interaction Design
  • Interactions
  • Interactive
  • performance
  • play
  • Prototyping
  • Relationships
  • Responsive
  • Sensorial
  • Staging
  • storytelling
  • Strategy
  • Systems
  • Systems Design
  • User Experience
  • Virtual Reality

Co-op Opportunities

  • MIT Mobile Experience Lab
    Cambridge, MA
  • MIT Center for Civic Media
    Cambridge, MA
  • Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority
    Boston, MA
  • Orgami Logic
    Mountain View, CA
  • The Boston Beer Company
    Suite 850 Boston, MA
  • TJMaxx and HomeGoods
    Framingham, MA
  • Wayfair
    Boston, MA
  • America's Test Kitchen
    Boston, MA
  • LevelUp
    Boston, MA
  • Mad Pow
    Boston, MA
  • Philips Research (HealthTech and Lighting)
    Cambridge, MA
  • Reed Exhibition
    Richmond TW9 1DN, UK
View all co-ops for Art + Design

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • understand and master design methods and techniques for palnning and design of systems, artifacts, communication, environments, and service offerings
    • Develop strategies for applying core systems concepts and models to experience design
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • Designer
    • design Researcher
    • Design Director
    • Strategist
    • Futurist
    • Art Director
    • Design Agency
    • Innovation Agency
    • Design Consultant
    • Product Manager

Experience Design, Minor Requirements

Requirements for Art and Design Majors

Note: This minor is not open to students pursuing the BFA in design program or any design combined major.

GPA Requirement

2.500 GPA required in the minor

*For complete program course listing, visit the University course catalog.

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Program Coordinators:

Kristian Kloeckl

Associate Professor

k.kloeckl@northeastern.edu
617-373-6987

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Administrators:

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Greg Zuch

Academic Advisor

g.zuch@northeastern.edu
617-373-7942

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Michelle Hagopian

Associate Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Faculty Member

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

View Art + Design faculty and staff