Back to Undergraduate Communication Studies Programs

undergraduate

Film Production, Minor

The interdisciplinary film production minor provides students with basic skills in media production. In addition to a foundational course in film production, students take electives dealing with documentary production, film analysis, screenwriting, storytelling, and video.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

The interdisciplinary film production minor provides students with basic skills in media production. In addition to a foundational course in film production, students take electives dealing with documentary production, film analysis, screenwriting, storytelling, and video.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Film Production, Minor Students

  • audio
  • communication
  • digital
  • entertainment
  • film
  • image
  • Internet
  • mass communication
  • media
  • media studies
  • production
  • television
  • video

Co-op Opportunities

  • WGBH
    Boston, MA
  • Travel and Leisure Magazine
    New York, NY
  • Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon
    New York, NY
  • The Food Network
    75 Ninth Avenue, NY
  • HGTV
    HGTV Knoxville, TN
  • Disney ABC Television Group
    Burbank, CA
  • AMC Networks Inc.
    New York, NY
  • A&M Octone Records
    New York, NY
View all co-ops for Communication Studies

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • ability to work under pressure
    • creative problem-solving skills
    • critical thinking thinking
    • leadership skills
    • listening
    • performance and presentation skills
    • project management skills
    • verbal and written communication skills
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • announcer
    • broadcast journalist
    • cameraman
    • creative director
    • editors
    • information officer
    • market researcher
    • media planner
    • media producer
    • multimedia specialist
    • newscasters
    • producer
    • screen writer
    • social media manager
    • web content manager
    • writer

Film Production, Minor Requirements

*For complete program course listing, visit the University course catalog.

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Department Chair:

Dale Herbeck

Department Chair, Professor

d.herbeck@northeastern.edu
617-373-5517

Administrators:

Angela Chin

Administrative Officer

a.chin@northeastern.edu
617-373-8662

Alexandra Kilgore

Administrative Officer

a.kilgore@northeastern.edu
617-373-5517

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Helena Prezio, MFA

Assistant Director of Advising

h.prezio@northeastern.edu
617-373-4822

Co-op Advisors:

Bill Jackson

Co-op Faculty Coordinator

w.jackson@northeastern.edu
617-373-3210

Jacqui Sweeney

Co-op Faculty Coordinator

j.sweeney@northeastern.edu
617-373-3409

Emily Smedick

Assistant Co-op Coordinator

e.smedick@northeastern.edu
617-373-3423

View Communication Studies faculty and staff