Back to Undergraduate Art + Design Programs

undergraduate

Interaction Design, Minor

Interaction design focuses on the creation of navigable interfaces and systems that allow audiences to achieve meaningful goals, connecting people to people and people to information and environments.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

Interaction design focuses on the creation of navigable interfaces and systems that allow audiences to achieve meaningful goals, connecting people to people and people to information and environments.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Interaction Design, Minor Students

  • 3D Printing
  • Apps
  • Augmented Reality
  • Branding
  • creative coding
  • data
  • data analysis
  • design
  • digital design
  • Ergonomics
  • Human-centered Design
  • information design; Design
  • Interaction
  • interactive media
  • Mixed Reality
  • Product design
  • research
  • User Experience
  • Virtual Reality
  • visualization

Co-op Opportunities

  • Philips Research (HealthTech and Lighting)
    Cambridge, MA
  • Thomson Reuters
    Cambridge, MA
  • MIT facilities
    Cambridge, MA
  • The Broad Institute
    Cambridge, MA
View all co-ops for Art + Design

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • visual communication: information design, semiotics, typography, graphic design
    • technical skills: data analysis, programming visual interfaces and visualizations, interactive techniques
    • research: history and theory of information design, design resarch
    • a. Programming
    • b. Scripting
    • c. User mapping
    • d. User stories
    • e. User observation
    • f. Personas
    • g. Human factors
    • h. 3D modeling
    • i. User testing
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • Experience Designer
    • Interaction Designer
    • Entrepreneur
    • Designer

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Program Coordinators:

Ann McDonald

Associate Professor

a.mcdonald@northeastern.edu
617-373-2662

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Administrators:

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Greg Zuch

Academic Advisor

g.zuch@northeastern.edu
617-373-7942

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Michelle Hagopian

Associate Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Faculty Member

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

View Art + Design faculty and staff