Back to Undergraduate Journalism Programs

undergraduate

Journalism Studies, Minor

Do you enjoy consuming the news and find yourself wondering just how it’s put together? The Journalism Studies Minor provides you with a background in journalism’s history, and the skills and tools reporters and editors use to assemble— and ultimately tell—stories.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

With an ever-growing array of information options available, and with the news media making news in the early days of the new administration in Washington, interest in the workings of journalism has never been higher. This minor is intended for those students who wish for a sophisticated media literacy, an understanding of the field that goes deeper than what can be gained in our popular Interpreting the Day’s News course.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Journalism Studies, Minor Students

  • digital media
  • history
  • journalism
  • storytelling

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • critical thinking
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • lawyer

Journalism Studies, Minor Requirements

Elective

Take one JRNL course.

GPA Requirement

2.000 GPA required in the minor

*For complete program course listing, visit the University course catalog.

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Department Chair:

Jonathan Kaufman

Professor, School Director

j.kaufman@northeastern.edu
617-373-3238

Administrators:

Susan Conover

Administrative Coordinator

s.conover@northeastern.edu
617-373-4053

Aleszu Bajak

a.bajak@northeastern.edu
617-373-7447

Academic Advisors:

Maegan Bishoff

Academic Advisor

m.bishoff@northeastern.edu
617-373-8382

Valerie Falasca, M.Ed

Academic Advisor

v.falasca@northeastern.edu
617-373-4960

Co-op Advisors:

Michelle Hagopian

Associate Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Faculty Member

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

View Journalism faculty and staff