Back to Undergraduate Communication Studies Programs

undergraduate

Media Screen Studies, Minor

Broader in focus than the program’s other two minors, the interdisciplinary minor in media and screen studies combines media production and analysis courses.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

The media and screen studies minor provides students with the analytical skills necessary for the rigorous analysis of media within the humanities and social science. The minor focuses on how media shape society and prepares students for careers in arts and industry, politics, and popular culture.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Media Screen Studies, Minor Students

  • advertising
  • audience
  • critical studies
  • cultural studies
  • digital media
  • discourse
  • entertainment
  • film
  • globalization
  • image
  • Internet
  • journalism
  • media
  • media studies
  • production
  • television

Co-op Opportunities

  • Walt Disney World
    Orlando, FL
  • Viacom
    New York, NY
  • The Chew Productions
    New York, NY
  • NBC Universal Television
    New York, NY
  • The Martha Stewart Show
    New York, NY
  • National Geographic Learning
    New York, NY
  • BMF Media Group
    New York, NY
View all co-ops for Communication Studies

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • ability to work under pressure
    • commercial and cultural awareness of media and creative industries
    • creative problem-solving skills
    • critical thinking
    • leadership skills
    • listening
    • performance and presentation skills
    • project management skills
    • verbal and written communication skills
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • account executive
    • broadcast journalist
    • creative director
    • information officer
    • market researcher
    • media planner
    • media producer
    • multimedia specialist
    • public relations specialist
    • social media manager
    • web content manager
    • writer

Media Screen Studies, Minor Requirements

*For complete program course listing, visit the University course catalog.

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Department Chair:

Dale Herbeck

Department Chair, Professor

d.herbeck@northeastern.edu
617-373-5517

Administrators:

Angela Chin

Administrative Officer

a.chin@northeastern.edu
617-373-8662

Alexandra Kilgore

Administrative Officer

a.kilgore@northeastern.edu
617-373-5517

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Helena Prezio, MFA

Assistant Director of Advising

h.prezio@northeastern.edu
617-373-4822

Maegan Bishoff

Academic Advisor

m.bishoff@northeastern.edu
617-373-8382

Co-op Advisors:

Bill Jackson

Co-op Faculty Coordinator

w.jackson@northeastern.edu
617-373-3210

Jacqui Sweeney

Co-op Faculty Coordinator

j.sweeney@northeastern.edu
617-373-3409

Emily Smedick

Assistant Co-op Coordinator

e.smedick@northeastern.edu
617-373-3423

View Communication Studies faculty and staff