Back to Undergraduate Art + Design Programs

undergraduate

Photography, Minor

The curriculum seeks to involve students in the knowledge, experience, and techniques of photography, informed by theory, experimentation, creation and critique.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

The photography minor immerses students in the creation of photographs. The curriculum seeks to involve students in the knowledge, experience, and techniques of photography, informed by theory, experimentation, and critique. Digital imaging, editing, and production facilities afford students the opportunity to become proficient in the emerging practices necessary for a variety of creative and technical contexts.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Photography, Minor Students

  • art
  • arts
  • Creative
  • creativity
  • design
  • photography
  • photojournalism
  • Portraiture
  • Studio Lighting

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • Design
    • Research
    • Camera Operations
    • Team Work
    • Producing a Shoot
    • Studio Lighting
    • Time Management
    • Printing
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • Fashion Photographer
    • Editorial Photographer
    • Photo Editor
    • Art Director
    • Art Producer

Photography, Minor Requirements

Requirements  for Art + Design Majors

Note: This minor is not available to students in the BFA in media arts program or any media arts combined major.

GPA Requirement

2.500 GPA required in the minor

*For complete program course listing, visit the University course catalog.

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Program Coordinators:

Julia Hechtman

Assistant Teaching Professor

j.hechtman@northeastern.edu
617-373-3872

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Administrators:

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Greg Zuch

Academic Advisor

g.zuch@northeastern.edu
617-373-7942

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Michelle Hagopian

Associate Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Faculty Member

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

View Art + Design faculty and staff