Back to Undergraduate Art + Design Programs

undergraduate

Studio Art, BFA

In this major, the studio art classes are taken at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, which permits students to explore a wide range of artistic media including ceramics, drawing, film, glasswork, metalsmith, painting, performance, print and paper, sculpture, and sound in their extensive studio environments. Art and design history courses are taken at Northeastern.

 

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

Our BFA in Studio Art is offered in partnership with the School of the Museum of Fine Arts at Tufts University (SMFA at Tufts) across Huntington Avenue from our campus. In this major your studio art classes are taken at the SMFA at Tufts, which permits you to explore a wide range of artistic media; including ceramics, drawing, film, metal smith, painting, performance, print and paper, sculpture, and sound in their extensive studio environments. Your Art + Design history courses are taken in our department and you have access to all the elective courses, Co-op and study abroad programs, student resources and activities that Northeastern students experience. 

The BFA in studio art degree is awarded by Northeastern.

LEARNING OUTCOMES
1. Create visual artworks that express ideas and demonstrate an individual vision and voice.
2. Gather information and apply modes of inquiry based in the humanities, sciences, social sciences and visual arts to analyze and produce creative work.
3. Use art and design theory and history to analyze, frame, and critique creative works across a range of times, cultures, and media.
4. Demonstrate competency in visual, spatial, and/or time-based media through the production of creative works.
5. Describe, analyze and evaluate how the student’s studio-based creative practice has evolved over time.
6. Discuss creative works in light of their social and ethical implications.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Studio Art, BFA Students

  • art history
  • arts
  • ceramics
  • creativity
  • drawing
  • film
  • glasswork
  • metalwork
  • painting
  • performance
  • printmaking
  • sculpture

Studio Art, BFA Requirements

Art and Design History Electives

*For complete program course listing, visit the University course catalog.

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar’s website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Program Coordinators:

Julia Hechtman

Assistant Teaching Professor

j.hechtman@northeastern.edu
617-373-3872

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Department Chair, Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Administrators:

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Greg Zuch

Academic Advisor

g.zuch@northeastern.edu
617-373-7942

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Michelle Hagopian

Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Co-op Coordinator

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

View Art + Design faculty and staff