Back to Undergraduate Art + Design Programs

undergraduate

Video Arts, Minor

The scope of the Video Arts minor is broader and more diverse tapestry than traditional Video Art and it reflects the dynamic evolution of video in multiple contexts, including the workplace. This minor enables students to explore contemporary, alternative, and other artistic means of video production in a variety of creative and technical contexts.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

Video Arts minor is based on a multidisciplinary field focused on creative video expression and messaging. It weaves together collaborative frameworks, theories of social and cultural change, video production (sound + image), alongside cinematic language (including documentary, imaginative, narrative, and experimental strategies). The scope of the Video Arts minor is broader and more diverse tapestry than traditional Video Art and it reflects the dynamic evolution of video in multiple contexts, including the workplace. This minor enables students to explore contemporary, alternative, and other artistic means of video production in a variety of creative and technical contexts.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Video Arts, Minor Students

  • art
  • arts
  • Creative
  • creativity
  • design
  • photography
  • photojournalism
  • Portraiture
  • Studio Lighting
  • video

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • Design
    • Research
    • Camera Operations
    • Team Work
    • Producing a Shoot
    • Studio Lighting
    • Time Management
    • Printing
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • Fashion Photographer
    • Editorial Photographer
    • Photo Editor
    • Art Director
    • Art Producer,

Video Arts, Minor Requirements

Requirements for Art + Design Majors

Note: This minor is not available to students in the BFA in media arts program or any media arts combined major.

GPA Requirement

2.500 GPA required in the minor

*For complete program course listing, visit the University course catalog.

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Program Coordinators:

Julia Hechtman

Associate Teaching Professor

j.hechtman@northeastern.edu
617-373-3872

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Administrators:

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Greg Zuch

Academic Advisor

g.zuch@northeastern.edu
617-373-7942

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Michelle Hagopian

Associate Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Faculty Member

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

View Art + Design faculty and staff