Skip to content

The winners of the School of Architecture design charrette were announced yesterday at the All School Student Assembly. Students were challenged with the redesign of the Ryder Hall Pediment.

Twenty-seven teams registered at the start of the charrette on Friday evening and by the deadline on Monday morning, 21 teams had submitted designs. Jurying took place on Tuesday morning. The scope of the project was as follows:

The design teams should integrate the entry canopy with Ryder Hall and the surrounding landscape including ground material, plantings, bike storage, and seating. Functionally, the canopy must provide a bit of respite before entering the building, and give the entry of Ryder Hall a greater presence on campus. The new canopy and landscape should provide a welcoming entry into Ryder Hall while relating to and connecting with the landscape of Centennial Quad. Campus Planning encourages designers to explore materials and constructability through their canopy design. The space under the canopy must shelter people entering the building from sun, rain, and snow.  

The winning design will be considered for construction by the University to replace the entry canopy and adjacent landscape at Ryder Hall. Prizes awarded for the teams were $1000 for first place; $750 for second place; and  $500 for third place. The jury was so impressed with the entries that they added 3 honorable mention awards in order to recognize some of the other projects.

The jury consisted of School of Architecture Faculty, Campus Planning and Facilities Personnel and Advisory Board members. Funding for the awards was provided by University Campus Planning, the School of Architecture Advisory Council Fund, and the School of Architecture Alumni and Family Fund.


First Prize: Moshe Porter / Ray Lau / Malek Sadder

Second Place: Nathaniel Gotfredson / Amelia Eisen / Sarah Solomon / Kate Hart /Carly Krotowski

Third Place: Mariya Lupandina / Katie Reilly / Nina Shabalina / Dusan Savicevic

Honorable Mention

Karl Buretz / Cyrus Dahmubed / Will Langevin
Ali Sherif / Andrea Bautil
William Fox / Isabella Pria

We congratulate all of our student participants. It was great to see such a strong turnout for this first ever design competition!

The Jury:

  • Dan Adams, Associate Professor, and Founding Principle, Landing Studio
  • Philip Chen, Principal, Ann Beha Architects, and School of Architecture Advisory Council member
  • Chuck Doughty, Director of Landscape and Grounds, Northeastern Facilities Administration
  • Michelle Laboy, Assistant Professor, and founder of FieLDworkshop
  • Ron Lavoie, Associate Vice-President of Northeastern Facilities Operations and Services
  • David Manfredi, Founding Principal, Elkus Manfredi Architects, and School of Architecture Advisory Council member
  • Robert Miklos, Founding Principal, DesignLAB, and School of Architecture Advisory Council member
  • Kathy Spiegelman, Vice President of Northeastern Campus Planning and Development
  • Richard Walsh, President, Walsh Brothers Construction, and School of Architecture Advisory Council member