Back to Undergraduate Art + Design Programs

undergraduate

Computer Science and Media Arts, BS

Students will acquire a solid foundation in computer science and media arts through curriculum that spans photography, animation, video, database design, computer graphics, and human-computer interaction.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

The computer science and media arts combined major is ideal for creative students who love technology. You’ll acquire a solid foundation in both fields through curriculum that spans photography, animation, video, database design, computer graphics, and human-computer interaction.

Media Arts general learning outcomes

1. Demonstrate awareness of the foundation and historical methods of digital media and applying research in portfolio development.
2. Analyze and critique artistic media effectively through both verbal and written communication, showing the ability to collaborate with peers and related disciplines.
3. Create a large body of portfolio work representing a wide range of concepts reflecting advanced level of analysis
4. Evaluate current and future trends in the development digital media by employing skills to disseminate and share information over the medium.
5. Explain and employ a unique personal style that shows significant contribution in the medium.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Computer Science and Media Arts, BS Students

  • arts
  • computer science
  • Creative
  • creativity
  • media arts
  • photography
  • photojournalism
  • video

Co-op Opportunities

  • Wayfair
    Boston, MA
  • The Boston Beer Company
    Suite 850 Boston, MA
  • Boston Public Market
    Boston, MA
View all co-ops for Art + Design

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • Design
    • Research
    • Camera Operations
    • Team Work
    • Producing a Shoot
    • Time Management
    • Studio Lighting
    • Printing
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • Editorial Photographer
    • Photo Editor
    • Art Director
    • Art Producer

Program Coordinators:

Julia Hechtman

Assistant Teaching Professor

j.hechtman@northeastern.edu
617-373-3872

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Department Chair, Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Administrators:

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Academic Advisors:

Ali Ressing

Academic Advisor

a.ressing@northeastern.edu
617-373-8140

Dawn Shirak

Academic Advisor

d.shirak@northeastern.edu
617-373-7552

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Michelle Hagopian

Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Faculty Member

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

View Art + Design faculty and staff