Back to Undergraduate Art + Design Programs

undergraduate

Game Design, Minor

The game design minor allows students in other areas of study to become familiarized with the basics of game design.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

The game design minor allows students in other areas of study to become familiarized with the basics of game design. Game design minor students can collaborate with BFA in Games, Game Art and Animation and Computer Science in Game Development students, make games and create portfolio pieces. Students will also be encouraged to apply principles from their own discipline to the game designs they create. We offer 6 courses in Game Design, which are open to students of all departments and Colleges across Northeastern University. Through this game design minor students can make games and create portfolio pieces. Students will also be able to apply principles from their own discipline to the game designs they create.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Game Design, Minor Students

  • Activist Games
  • Alternate Reality Games
  • Animation
  • Animé
  • Artgames
  • Augmented Reality
  • Board Games
  • creativity
  • Game Criticism
  • Game Research
  • Games
  • health science
  • Imaginary Worlds
  • Immersive Theater/Performance
  • Interaction/Interface Design
  • Live Action Roleplaying
  • Machinima
  • Pervasive Games
  • Serious Games
  • Social Justice Games
  • social media
  • technology
  • Transmedia

Co-op Opportunities

  • SAIC
    Cambridge, MA
  • Zynga
    Cambridge, MA
  • Microsoft Studios
    15010 NE 36th Street Microsoft Campus Building 92 Redmond, WA
View all co-ops for Art + Design

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • Teamwork/Collaboration
    • Communication
    • Writing
    • Presenting Ideas
    • Self-motivation
    • Autodidact
    • Self-directed
    • Learning
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • Game Designer
    • Game Artist
    • Animator
    • Modeler
    • Project Manager
    • Producer
    • Level Designer
    • Game Writer
    • Game Sound
    • Audio Designer
    • Game Composer
    • Playtester
    • Interaction/Usability Designer
    • Web Designer

Game Design, Minor Requirements

GPA Requirement

2.000 GPA required in the minor

*For complete program course listing, visit the University course catalog.

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Program Coordinators:

Brandon Sichling

Assistant Teaching Professor

b.sichling@northeastern.edu

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Department Chair, Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Administrators:

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Academic Advisors:

Greg Zuch

Academic Advisor

g.zuch@northeastern.edu
617-373-7942

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Faculty Member

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

Michelle Hagopian

Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

View Art + Design faculty and staff