Back to Undergraduate Communication Studies Programs

undergraduate

Communication Studies and Graphic and Information Design, BA

Students interested in the combined major integrate the study of communication skills and processes with the design of message and meaning, integrating text, image, and data.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

The Department of Communication Studies and the Department of Art + Design offer a combined major in communication studies and graphic and information design. Students interested in the combined major integrate the study of communication skills and processes with the design of message and meaning, integrating text, image, and data.

COMMUNICATION STUDIES
COURSE OUTCOMES
Communication is a diverse discipline and every department is unique. At Northeastern, the Communication Studies curriculum was designed to achieve three distinct learning objectives:

1. Basic communication skills, including the ability to research a question, prepare and deliver a compelling speech, and think critically and write effectively.
2. An understanding of the communication discipline including an appreciation of the history of communication studies, familiarity with important theoretical principles, and the ability to apply this knowledge to contemporary problems.
3. A distinct area of emphasis that distinguishes their major. Some of the more popular areas include argumentation and advocacy, organizational or health communication, digital communication, and media production.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Communication Studies and Graphic and Information Design, BA Students

  • advertising
  • audio
  • communication
  • digital
  • entertainment
  • graphics
  • information
  • intercultural
  • interpersonal
  • marketing
  • mass communication
  • organizational
  • political
  • production
  • public relations
  • social media
  • strategic communication
  • television
  • video
  • visual communication

Co-op Opportunities

  • Amazon
    Seattle, WA
  • Arnold Worldwide
    Boston, MA
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
    Boston, MA
  • Constant Contact
    Waltham, MA
  • Dana Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, MA
  • Donna Karan International
    Boston, MA
  • Eaton Vance Management
    Boston, MA
  • Institute of Contemporary Art
    Boston, MA
  • John Hancock
    Massachusetts, US
  • Johnson & Johnson
    Massachusetts, US
  • Liberty Mutual
    Boston, MA
  • Southwest Airlines
    Dallas, TX
  • Strong Women Strong Girls
    Boston, MA
  • TJMaxx and HomeGoods
    Framingham, MA
  • Wayfair
    Boston, MA
  • Zipcar
    Boston, MA
  • Harvard University
    Cambridge, MA
View all co-ops for Communication Studies

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • ability to work under pressure
    • creative problem-solving skills
    • critical thinking
    • leadership skills
    • listening
    • performance and presentation skills
    • verbal and written communication skills
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • account executive
    • brand manager
    • computer hardware engineer
    • computer programmer
    • creative director
    • database administrator
    • development officer
    • health educator
    • human resources professional
    • lawyer
    • media planner
    • meeting/event planner
    • personnel recruiter
    • public information officer
    • public relations specialist
    • sales representative
    • social media manager
    • software developer
    • web developer

Communication Studies and Graphic and Information Design, BA Requirements

Communication Electives

Graphic and Information Design Requirements

Introduction to Art and Design

Communication Studies Grade Requirement

No more than two grades below a C in communication studies courses may be used to fulfill degree requirements.

Communication Studies and Graphic and Information Design Major Credit Requirement

84 semester hours required in the major

Program Requirement

128 total semester hours required

*For complete program course listing, visit the University course catalog.

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Program Coordinators:

Thomas Starr

Professor

t.starr@northeastern.edu
617-373-5286

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Department Chair, Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Dale Herbeck

Department Chair, Professor

d.herbeck@northeastern.edu
617-373-5517

Administrators:

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Angela Chin

Administrative Officer

a.chin@northeastern.edu
617-373-8662

Alexandra Kilgore

Administrative Officer

a.kilgore@northeastern.edu
617-373-5517

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Greg Zuch

Academic Advisor

g.zuch@northeastern.edu
617-373-7942

Valerie Falasca, M.Ed

Academic Advisor

v.falasca@northeastern.edu
617-373-4960

Helena Prezio, MFA

Assistant Director of Advising

h.prezio@northeastern.edu
617-373-4822

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Michelle Hagopian

Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Faculty Member

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

Bill Jackson

Co-op Faculty Coordinator

w.jackson@northeastern.edu
617-373-3210

Jacqui Sweeney

Co-op Faculty Coordinator

j.sweeney@northeastern.edu
617-373-3409

Emily Smedick

Assistant Co-op Coordinator

e.smedick@northeastern.edu
617-373-3423

View Communication Studies faculty and staff