Back to Undergraduate Communication Studies Programs

undergraduate

Communication Studies and Media Arts, BA

Students interested in the combined major integrate the study of communication skills and processes with the study of the creation of the narrative arts, required for professional work in documentary film, game art and promotion, visualization, motion graphics, interactive art, illustration, and short animated films.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

The Department of Communication Studies and the Department of Art + Design offer a combined major in media arts and communication studies. Students interested in the combined major integrate the study of communication skills and processes with the study of the creation of the narrative arts, required for professional work in documentary film, game art and promotion, visualization, motion graphics, interactive art, illustration, and short animated films.

COMMUNICATION STUDIES
COURSE OUTCOMES
Communication is a diverse discipline and every department is unique. At Northeastern, the Communication Studies curriculum was designed to achieve three distinct learning objectives:

1. Basic communication skills, including the ability to research a question, prepare and deliver a compelling speech, and think critically and write effectively.
2. An understanding of the communication discipline including an appreciation of the history of communication studies, familiarity with important theoretical principles, and the ability to apply this knowledge to contemporary problems.
3. A distinct area of emphasis that distinguishes their major. Some of the more popular areas include argumentation and advocacy, organizational or health communication, digital communication, and media production.

Media Arts general learning outcomes:

1. Demonstrate awareness of the foundation and historical methods of digital media and applying research in portfolio development.
2. Analyze and critique artistic media effectively through both verbal and written communication, showing the ability to collaborate with peers and related disciplines.
3. Create a large body of portfolio work representing a wide range of concepts reflecting advanced level of analysis
4. Evaluate current and future trends in the development digital media by employing skills to disseminate and share information over the medium.
5. Explain and employ a unique personal style that shows significant contribution in the medium.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Communication Studies and Media Arts, BA Students

  • art
  • arts
  • communication
  • Creative
  • creativity
  • digital media
  • photography
  • photojournalism
  • video

Co-op Opportunities

  • Boston Public Market
    Boston, MA
  • The Boston Beer Company
    Suite 850 Boston, MA
  • Wayfair
    Boston, MA
View all co-ops for Communication Studies

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • Design
    • Research
    • Camera Operations
    • Team Work
    • Producing a Shoot
    • Studio Lighting
    • Time Management
    • Printing
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • Editorial Photographer
    • Photo Editor
    • Art Director
    • Art Producer

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Program Coordinators:

Jamal Thorne

Assistant Teaching Professor - Art

j.thorne@northeastern.edu

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Department Chair, Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Dale Herbeck

Department Chair, Professor

d.herbeck@northeastern.edu
617-373-5517

Administrators:

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Angela Chin

Administrative Officer

a.chin@northeastern.edu
617-373-8662

Alexandra Kilgore

Administrative Officer

a.kilgore@northeastern.edu
617-373-5517

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Greg Zuch

Academic Advisor

g.zuch@northeastern.edu
617-373-7942

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Michelle Hagopian

Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Faculty Member

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

Emily Smedick

Assistant Co-op Coordinator

e.smedick@northeastern.edu
617-373-3423

View Communication Studies faculty and staff