Back to Undergraduate Art + Design Programs

undergraduate

Graphic and Information Design, Minor

Graphic design combined with information design focuses on visualizing concepts and data to enhance human understanding of complex and vital knowledge.

  • Academics
  • Experiences
  • Interests

Graphic design makes messages and meaning using visual form and the integration of text and image. It often has a persuasive intention and uses rules of visual composition, form, and pattern to enable storytelling or to create attention and an ambience for consideration. Information design focuses on visualizing concepts and data to enhance human understanding of complex and vital knowledge.

View University Course Catalog

Interests of Graphic and Information Design, Minor Students

  • 3D Printing
  • Apps
  • Augmented Reality
  • Branding
  • creative coding
  • creativity
  • data
  • data analysis
  • design
  • digital design
  • Ergonomics
  • Human-centered Design
  • information design; Design
  • Interaction
  • interactive media
  • Mixed Reality
  • Product design
  • research
  • technology
  • User Experience
  • Virtual Reality
  • visualization

Co-op Opportunities

  • The Broad Institute
    Cambridge, MA
  • MIT facilities
    Cambridge, MA
  • Thomson Reuters
    Cambridge, MA
  • Philips Research (HealthTech and Lighting)
    Cambridge, MA
View all co-ops for Art + Design

Career Opportunities

  • Multidisciplinary Skills
    • Programming
    • Scripting
    • User mapping
    • User stories
    • User observation
    • Personas
    • Human factors
    • 3D modeling
    • User testing
  • Careers of Tomorrow
    • Experience Designer
    • Interaction Designer
    • Entrepreneur
    • Designer

Resources for Current Students

Course Catalog

Visit the Registrar’s website for a course catalog and information on university core requirements.

View University Course Catalog

Program Coordinators:

Ann McDonald

Associate Professor

a.mcdonald@northeastern.edu
617-373-2662

Department Chair:

Tad Hirsch

Department Chair, Professor

tad.hirsch@northeastern.edu

Administrators:

Nhora Delgado

Administrative Assistant

n.delgado@northeastern.edu
617-373-4340

Zohreh Firouzabadian

Academic Manager

z.firouzabadian@northeastern.edu
617-373-8296

Dara-Lynn Pelechatz

Administrative Officer

d.pelechatz@northeastern.edu
617-373-5242

Academic Advisors:

Jocelyn Faber

Academic Advisor

j.faber@northeastern.edu
617-373-3701

Greg Zuch

Academic Advisor

g.zuch@northeastern.edu
617-373-7942

Co-op Advisors:

Dori Peleg Mazor

Co-op Coordinator

d.mazor@northeastern.edu
617-373-3439

Michelle Hagopian

Co-op Coordinator

m.hagopian@northeastern.edu
617-373-6908

Kellianne Murphy

Senior Co-op Coordinator

k.murphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-3412

View Art + Design faculty and staff